top of page
  • Writer's picturethesidescheme

Tier Lists 1.0

Greetings fellow gaming enthusiasts! I am Tommy of Titan and today I’d like to share with all of you a tier list of the characters that my team and I have all been talking about. Each of us has come up with our own rankings where we believe each character stands at the moment, and in some cases, projecting where we think a character will be once it’s released. My hope is that we can continue to publish articles like this as the game grows to help both new and old players have an idea of where.



Now before I just throw out a list I think it would be helpful for me to explain how we will rank these characters as well as what each of these ranks mean (generally). These ranks are not just based on the identity cards themselves, but also on the signature set of 15 cards they come with. It is also important to keep 2 additional things in mind while we go through this exercise though. One, is that just because a character is not ranked high does not mean that it can’t be effective in the right environment and it certainly doesn’t mean they are not enjoyable to play. Two, is that many factors will impact where a character ends up in our list such as new encounters that they may be good or bad against, as well as new aspect cards that may work well with them. Now let’s look at the tiers.

S tier is a character that is clearly above all other characters consistently. This character should be so versatile that it’s almost not challenging to play as them. In addition to that, this character should be able to preform well with any aspect simply because they and their 15 cards are so strong.


A tier is a character that is a great choice for almost any encounter and probably works well with any aspect. These characters may have some flaws but can be balanced in other areas to make up for those flaws.

B tier is a character that is also very strong and good in most situations but doesn’t typically have the consistency or major upside that other characters have. I’ve found that most of the characters I have in this category are some of my absolute favorites to play because they are often less straight forward to get results from.


C tier is where we will stop at this point for now. This will act as the bottom level of heroes in the game (again, just my opinion). This does not mean they are unplayable or can’t have success. I just believe that they are not well suited to take on the current top level encounters at this point in the game’s life.


Ok, here we go. The rankings.



S tier:

Captain America: I think few would argue just how amazing and well rounded this character really is. He is my current definition of S tier and has separated himself from the rest of our Heroes.



A tier:

Iron-man: I gotta admit that this character starts as slow as any in the game but his massive damage and thwarting potential is still enough to earn him A tier in my mind.

Captain Marvel: a very well rounded character with some of the best draw in the game. Pair that with a large life pool and solid damage potential and she is definitely A tier for me.


Spider-man: Few characters are as well rounded as this one. He can play effectively in any of the 4 aspects and offers more tricks than any other hero in my opinion. Webbed Up, Enhanced Spider-sense, and Backflip all come to mind.



B tier:

Black Panther: Easily my favorite hero to play so far in the game but the fact that his upgrades do nothing without Wakanda Forever and the chance that you just draw your deck in a less than ideal order really limit his potential. Once he’s going there is major upside though.


Ms Marvel: Another character that I find extremely rewarding to play because of all the nuance. Again there is some big upside once she is setup but getting there can take time. Add in the burden of some really intensive order of operations and she loses some points. Still a more than viable hero capable of contributing and winning any encounter.


C tier:

She-Hulk: well, here we are, at the end of the list. I’ve spent some time with this hero and there definitely feels like she’s missing something. She absolutely can work, but having one copy of Gamma Slam makes you want to hold the card for the big play and it almost never works as well as you hoped. In addition to that a lot of the cards in her signature set feel like they are coated slightly too high. Still has some potential to ready especially when her attack stat is increased.


Projection time!





Thor: I’m not sure where I want to put Thor but I’m thinking because the 3 most difficult encounters we have in the game have a bunch of minions engaging you dictates that he is an A tier hero. Even one more encounter that devalues minions and is challenging could cause him to slip to B tier because of his limited hand size when minions aren’t present.


Now these are just my opinions and of course each of you will have your own. If you are a new player this may be helpful for you in deciding what heroes you want to play. I’ve also asked the members of our team to rank each hero so you could glance at some other thoughts before you leave.

BananaCrapshoot:

S- Captain America

A- Iron-Man, Captain Marvel, Spider-man, Thor

B- Black Panther, Ms Marvel

C- She-Hulk


JustJack:

S - Captain America, Iron-Man

A - Captain Marvel

B - Black Panther, Ms Marvel, Spider-man, Thor

C- none

D- She-Hulk


ScottE:

S- Captain America

A - Captain Marvel, Iron-Man

B - Spiderman, Thor

C- Ms. Marvel, Black Panther

D- She-Hulk


Well that about does it for this article. If you enjoyed it stay tuned for an updated list as more and more characters and encounters release! As always, if you are interested in more content please stay tuned here for more articles, as well as checking out The Side Scheme on FB, YouTube, Twitch, Patreon, and wherever you listen to Podcasts. I’m Tommy of Titan ominously drifting into the shadows.

1,046 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Signing Off

Hey Champions, I hope everyone is doing well. Sorry I haven’t been around much. Real life is demanding much more of my time than I anticipated. I’m writing this short little blurb to let everyone know

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page