top of page
  • Writer's picturethesidescheme

The Side Scheme Draft League Season 8 Breakdown

by BananaCrapshoot


How’s it going champions? So last night we ran the draft for season 8 of The Side Scheme’s “fantasy draft” we call the Scheme league. This season we have 10 teams playing against The first 3 GMW scenarios as standalone encounters. Then there will be a Nebula expert tiebreaker for the 3-0 teams. The teams are 2 player or solo 2 handed teams. The draft last night was a lot of fun and I just wanted to break down how the draft went and share some thoughts I had on it.


For the draft we had each team draft 2 Heroes and 2 aspects. Each hero was in the pool once and each aspect was available 5 times. So

We did a 4 round snake draft and used a randomizer to generate the draft order. So I’ll go through each pick 1 through 10, then 10 through 1 as we snake down, etc. for the draft.


Round 1.


  1. Doctor Strange

  2. Star-Lord

  3. Scarlet Witch

  4. Captain America

  5. Gamora

  6. Quicksilver

  7. Ant-Man

  8. Groot

  9. Rocket Raccoon

  10. Captain Marvel


Round 2.


  1. Ms Marvel

9. Wasp

8. Spider-Man

7. Black Panther

6. Iron Man

5. Thor

4. Aggression

3. Spider-Woman

2. Black Widow

1. Hawkeye


Round 3.


  1. Leadership

  2. Aggression

  3. Leadership

  4. Aggression

  5. Leadership

  6. Aggression

  7. Aggression

  8. Leadership

  9. Leadership

  10. Justice


Round 4.


10. Protection

9. Justice

8. Protection

7. Justice

6. Protection

5. Justice

4. Hulk

3. Protection

2. Justice

1. Protection




Round 1 recap- Dr Strange going number 1 isn’t a surprise. Groot maybe went higher than I expected but he’s new so I get it. Not many surprises here.


Round 2 recap- the first aspect goes off the board here with team 4 taking aggression. Me Marvel being paired with Captain Marvel is an exciting pairing I’m looking forward to seeing how that team does!


Round 3 recap- with all but hulk and she-hulk drafted aspects really started firing off. No real surprise that Leadership and Aggression were most highly valued aspects. The real surprise was team 4 doubling up on aggression. Aggression was gone before leadership which was a little surprising, but I think that’s a factor of the collector 1.


Round 4 recap- team 4 took hulk to pair with cap in the double aggression team up, this parking I’m really into and is potentially the strongest team just in raw speed they can take out the villain. Nothing else really surprising here.



Some other little nuggets I found interesting, I’d the 10 teams entered this season, 5 of them are a parent/sibling team which I think is really awesome! When we drafted all picks are submitted via Gifs so that makes for some really funny moments. The draft overall was a very enjoyable experience. If you are looking for a different format to play I suggest looking into a draft or solo league.


Now I’m gonna give some hot takes and guve what I think are the strongest and weakest drafts.


Strongest draft- team 3 with scarlet witch, spider-woman,readership, protection


Weakest draft- team 8 with Groot, spider-man, leadership, protection


My prediction to win- team 4 with captain America, hulk, double aggression


Dark horse- team 5 with Gamora, Thor, leadership, justice



That’s it for this one, I just wanted to highlight our draft from last night because it’s fresh in my mind, was a lot of fun, and had some plot twists. If you want more info on our draft league and would like to participate yourself reach out to me on Facebook or discord! Stay scheming champions .

251 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Signing Off

Hey Champions, I hope everyone is doing well. Sorry I haven’t been around much. Real life is demanding much more of my time than I anticipated. I’m writing this short little blurb to let everyone know

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page