top of page
  • Writer's picturethesidescheme

The Hero’s Journey Part 8: Thor

Hello Champions BananaCrapshoot here and welcome to another edition of The Hero’s Journey, an article series where I look at, talk about, and review the 15 cards that make up A hero’s signature set of cards then give an objective grade to the overall power level of these cards, from 1-5 with 5 being super amazing and 1 being binder bound. Let’s Thunder in here.


Kicking things off with Lady Sif. She’s a great ally. She can thwart or attack, I know she’s 4 cost but her ability to ready Thor is awesome and can come in clutch. Have to defend with Thor, gets hit with the obligation, bam play Sif and still get a turn out of Thor. I use her to thwart 95% of the time since Thor sucks at threat management.


I have a serious love/hate relationship with this card. I love that it costs 0 to remove 3 threat, I also love it gives us a minion. I hate how, depending on the scenario you will cycle the villain deck so fast to get acceleration tokens added, and with his weak thwart you are relying on another defender of the nine, or sif to thwart. Ultimate double edged sword of a card.


I really liked this card in my preview, in reality I hardly play it, only if it’s turn 1 basically. I want Asgard basically. It’s a good tutor to help Thor find some cards but in reality if it’s not round 1 it’s a resource most of the time.



Here’s swinging web kick with overkill, but you have to have Mjolnir on the table, which it should be unless you already played a hammer throw. Any event that deals 8 is awesome and the overkill is a nice bonus and works well with Thor’s gameplan. It’s nice there’s 3 of them so when you thin the deck late game you can find them faster. Great to one shot big minions, only one it can’t right now is Tombstone I believe.


This one is the best card in Thor’s kit. With Mjolnir giving you Aerial you can board wipe minions ignoring Tough. On average you will hit for 4 if you build your deck properly. I kind of wish this was a 3 of, just to see it more consistently. Like I’d Hammer Throw was 2x and this 3x I think that would have been fine.


This card fixes one of Thor’s two downsides, his hand static hand size. Starting hero mode turns with 5 cards is much nicer and opens up many more options than 4. Now his hand size in general isn’t a downside to me because of the amount of times you’ll draw 2 off the hero abikity. But this support giving you that +1 static hand size, like I said, is really nice and opens more options up for bigger better turns. You definitely want to see this thing early.


Here’s another card you want to see early. It’s effectively +1 hand size each turn after you play it. Theres two of them in here also. They are also synergistic with Lightning Strikes, Nova, Vision, and Valkyrie. Free resources are always nice.



Here we got the signature hammer for Thor, Mjolnir is ok. Gives +1 ATK to give thor 3 base ATK which is right in line with Hawkeye and his bow............ The aerial is nice for the kicker on Lightning strike to ignore tough. It needed to be here but it’s slightly underwhelming to me, just missing something.


Final card is his helmet, which as of this article gives Thor the highest potential HP pool, you can tell this guy just wants to face tank to deal that dmg right back. +5 for 2 is the best heal card in the game right now.

Now that the card review is done will we go right to the grades.


Tommy of Titan- 3.4

BananaCrapshoot- 3.6



Overall his kit is ok, good damage cards, a good thwart card that has the potential to blow up in your face, good ally, ok upgrades. The hammer is missing something. Thor shines in multiplayer and high minion count scenarios. He’s weaker in solo play since he Has to rely on himself to thwart and another player can’t pick up his slack in that area. He’s well designed overall but definitely has more of a niche than other heroes thus far.

Thanks for stopping by, please check out our other articles on the site, our YouTube, the podcast, and patreon if interested. Stay Scheming Champions.



226 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Signing Off

Hey Champions, I hope everyone is doing well. Sorry I haven’t been around much. Real life is demanding much more of my time than I anticipated. I’m writing this short little blurb to let everyone know

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page