top of page
  • Writer's picturethesidescheme

The Hero's Journey part 4

Updated: Mar 9, 2020


Hello Champions, BananaCrapshoot back again for the fourth installment of The Hero's Journey article series I am doing. Today's article will be focused on She-Hulk and her 15 signature hero cards. Without further stalling, lets dive in.



We start off this kit with the signature ally, Hellcat. Overall I am not overly impressed by this card. Cost/health are fine, as are thwart and attack values. The action can be situationally beneficial but there are lots of better allies I would rather play than this.



Gamma Slam, this card is the reason to play She-Hulk. 4 cost for 15 damage is ridiculous. To get the most out of this playing Endurance on She-Hulk is great so you have a few HP buffer when you drop this. Only complaint is that its a one of in the deck, that factor really brings down the overall potency of the kit. This is hands down the best card She-Hulk has at her disposal.



Ground Stomp is a decent card, it has a low floor though. Its good against Ultron drones and clearing minions with tough. Feels very thematic to She-Hulk. Against scenarios with low minion counts this doesn't provide as much value.



I am just going to say I don't think this card is good. Dumping your whole hand to thwart for 5 is a terrible round. I can see in a pinch playing it to save you from losing, but holy crap other than that this is atrocious. What makes it even worse is that you have to remove the threat from the same scheme, if you could break it up it would be better. With some other cards we have seen so far and cards that are coming, I'm kind of baffled one this bad exists.



This is one of the better cards in the kit. Probably the second best one. Paying one to ready after attacking is very strong overall, and especially for She-Hulk. You are paying 1 resource for 3 dmg basically. Nothing bad to say about this card, solid.



Split Personality is one of the only cards I know of that can let you change form as an action, outside of the one per turn you are allowed. It has its uses, being able to be in one form, play some cards, flip, then play this to flip again and draw up, can be hugely relevant, only downside is if you flip to Hero side she only draws four. Situationally good.




This is way better than legal practice, seriously what were they thinking? Here's a support for She-Hulk to use to thwart. My issues with it are its Alter-Ego only and you HAVE to spend a mental resource to remove the two threat. At least its better than legal practice.



I like this upgrade for She-Hulk, it helps you set up your gamma slam turn, assuming you actually draw it when you want/need it. Biggest thing is the card draw, no surprise the biggest drawback of She-Hulk is her hand size in hero mode. This at least gets you to five cards so you feel like you can actually do something that round. Card draw is king and this allows you to do that, and set up gamma slam.



This upgrade is very solid. +2 ATK is always good and the forced response can win you games. Stunning the villains(s) is very beneficial and allows you to operate more freely. I don't have anything bad to say about this card. Glad there are two of them in the deck. For 2 cost you get a lot of value so play this as often as you can.


Well I'm just gonna give our grades and then talk about them and some more general thoughts on She-Hulk overall.


Grades-

BananaCrapshoot-2.7

Tommy of Titan- 3.1


Tommy has a much higher grade on She-Hulk than I do. For me, whenever I play She-Hulk I am completely underwhelmed, she is missing something. At first I thought it was the drawback of her hand size, but with Focused Rage and Avengers Mansion, you can overcome that drawback. What you cant overcome is bad hero kit, which in my opinion She-Hulk has. Don't get me wrong she has some really good and strong cards, Gamma Slam, One-Two Punch, Superhuman Strength. But it also has some real doozies, most notably Legal Practice, this card is super frustrating to me.


I think if Gamma Slam was a two of and Legal Practice was anything else She-Hulk would rank much higher for me. To be frank this is the one hero that whenever I play a game I know for sure I'm not gonna build a deck with.


That's it for this article, we will have one more on Spider-Man coming soon which will cover the core set then I will move to expansion pack Heroes. Thanks for sticking around and reading my ramble on Legal Practice. Check out our podcast and youtube for more content. For Tommy of Titan, I am BananaCrapshoot, stay scheming Champions.

464 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Signing Off

Hey Champions, I hope everyone is doing well. Sorry I haven’t been around much. Real life is demanding much more of my time than I anticipated. I’m writing this short little blurb to let everyone know

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page