top of page
  • Writer's picturethesidescheme

VS System 2PCG: Greater Than the Sum of it’s Parts preview reaction

by BananaCrapshoot



Hello Champions, or others. I am gonna try something a little different today. I have talked about VS System 2PCG here before but this time I got something new. Upper Deck’s blog just posted a preview article for the next pack release, Crossover vol. 4. If you don’t know, each year one release for the game is called Crossover and they use this pack to introduce new cards to help reinforce already established teams, archetypes, and sometime introduce new game modes, like boss battles and battleworld modes. So for this little article I’m gonna take a look at the cards previewed and give my thoughts.



Kicking things off we get a look at a new Main Character (MC) for the Sentinels team, Master Mold. Right off the bat his 6 defense and 6 health are good. flight and ranged are always good and give you board flexibility. The one attack is meh but it fits with the team and I imagine lots of team attacks with him anyway. His level up power, Cast in the same mold, requires 6 xp to level, and he gets an XP when a sentinel supporting character (SC) appears on your side. Normal games without cheating guys out, you will probably level turn 3 which is pretty average. His keyword Power, All Systems Online allows him to gain the keyword powers from a bunch of the sentinel SCs we will have in this deck. How the Alpha combat unit sentinels work is they have a keyword power and then they gain the keyword power of the other alpha sentinel SCs in your ko(discard) pile. Which is very thematic, sentinels are destroyed and the new ones, or the ones that survive learn and adapt. Master Mold being AKA sentinel is pretty good too so you can discard sentinel SCs to give him counters and their keywords. Overall this is a very solid level 1 MC that you won’t play outside of a sentinel deck. Let’s look at his level 2





For level 2 we double are attack and defense! while the 2 attack Isn’t that impressive we know we will probably be team attacking most times anyway. 12 defense however, is very high for a main character and I imagine it will take some late game heroics to knock out this MC. We keep all of our keyword powers and gain a new one with Full Operation Capability, this power is very cool as it allows us to cheat out more sentinels and we will be vomiting sentinels on the regular, gaining new keyword powers in the process .




also in this release we get a new plot twist for the team to help our early game consistency. I think if my math is right we can have roughly 20 sentinels, plus 4 copies of nimrod in our deck so this card grabs roughly 80% of the supporting characters we will have access to. A great tool for us to level by turn 3. This is great for consistency in an already consistent deck. I’m generally a fan of any card that lets me fix my hand, filter through my deck, or draw cards so this fits right in.



OK so all of the Sentinel supporting characters are going to have light in range, they’re all going to have a 1 attack 1 defense. a they are going to have one of a kind and swarm keywords, and they are all going to have alpha combat unit self replicating keywords that give them counters for the other alpha units in the KO pile. The thing that differentiates each alpha sentinel is the keyword from the learning program now this one has invade. Invade makes it so when this character strikes a back row character , that character can’t strike back. this is pretty strong for protecting guys with low defense and late gsme this could end the game without fear of being hit back on your swing.



I really like that this one gives Hunter. Hunter is a cool keyword, it gives this character +3 attack, when it attacks. So on defense you won’t have +3 on your strike back but offensively it makes this guy a 4 base attack, and honestly this is one I probably want to see early to try and get it into my KO pile so the rest of my Alpha sentinels and Master Mold get that +3 for that rest of the game. I am generally more of an aggro player so giving 19 other characters +3 attack is something I enjoy thinking about.






184 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Signing Off

Hey Champions, I hope everyone is doing well. Sorry I haven’t been around much. Real life is demanding much more of my time than I anticipated. I’m writing this short little blurb to let everyone know

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page