top of page
  • Writer's picturethesidescheme

Modular Sets: Ranked

by BananaCrapshoot



What’s up champions?! Hope everyone is doing well. Today I wanted to take another look at modular sets. Since the last rankings we’ve had Galaxy’s Most Wanted release which added a few modular sets. I didn’t rank these right away I wanted some time with the new modulars to play with older stuff so I could see how they function outside of the campaign.

So today I wanted to rank the modular sets by difficulty. I’m going to put them into 4 groups, hardest, hard, normal, and easy. Now how I’ve ranked these is by doing my own rankings and also getting input from various members of the community and compiling them into these groups based on the collective input.

The Hardest group is the group that on average across all scenarios increase the scenario difficulty the most.

The Hard group is the group that on average across all scenarios increase the scenario difficulty by a fair amount.

The Normal group on average increases the scenario difficulty by the least amount or don’t add much at all other than variety.

The easy group on average doesn’t increase scenario difficulty at all on average.

obviously there’s edge cases where a certain set can impact a scenario more than others, here we are looking at them on average across all scenarios.


Hardest:


Kree Fanatic

The Doomsday Chair

Legions of Hydra

Anachronauts

Master of Time

Kree militants

Badoon headhunter

Menagerie medley


Hard:

Masters of Evil

A Mess of Things

Hydra Patrol

Temporal

Hydra Assault

Running Interference

Galactic artifacts

Band of Badoon

Space pirates

Normal:


Experimental Weapons

Under Attack

Power Drain

Weapon Master

Goblin Gimmicks


Easy:

Bomb Scare

Ship command

Power stone

In a vaccuum I still think Kree Fantatic is the most brutal modular set we have. GMW added a lot of really solid modular sets, even ship command and power stone, while not hard have interesting interactions and can be very fun. Overall the amount of modular sets has brought me to the point where i now describe marvel Champions as a buffet style lcg. Where you pick and choose what you want on your plate.


thats it for this iteration. I’ll probably wait until after The Hood scenario releases and then we will have like 13-15 new additions and really throw this ranking for a loop. Let me know what modular sets you enjoy using.Thanks for stopping by!

1,133 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Signing Off

Hey Champions, I hope everyone is doing well. Sorry I haven’t been around much. Real life is demanding much more of my time than I anticipated. I’m writing this short little blurb to let everyone know

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page