top of page
  • Writer's picturethesidescheme

Incite: Journey into VS System 2PCG part 2



by BananaCrapshoot



What’s up Champions? Hope everyone is doing well. A few months ago I wrote an article, part 1 in this series, talking about how I found VS system 2PCG, what initially excited me about the game and I decided I was going to document my journey into the game. I also released a Carcast talking about the Vs system 2PCG but haven’t reported much since.


I’ve mainly been buying old releases, and am currently up to date on all the packs. I’ve been playing mostly at my kitchen table but been engaging in the community, mostly on discord.


Recently though I signed up for my first online league, it’s ran by The Build Phase and it’s an online webcam league. I had my first game Tuesday night against a super nice gentleman, Jason. I just wanted to take a few seconds and talk about my first experience playing in the league and where my heads at with the game currently.




So the deck I decided to build is a Helmut Zemo deck from the newest release, Thunderbolts, which is part of the Civil War arc, which is the perfect jumping on point for new players. Zemo’s thing is swarming the board early with 1 cost units and when you level you can use zemo to make sure they can’t protect characters.



I was running 14 1 drops, 4 of them searched out another copy of themselves and another 4 drew a card when they entered play, I thought I had plenty of draw and consistency and my testing confirmed that.




Jason, my opponent was playing the new Cable also from the civil war arc, and his deal is he can switch your atk/def values and when he levels up he can also make your face down characters face up, essentially allowing you to get 2 wounds on a guy when you normally can only get 1.



I got 4 xp in the first 2 rounds and felt in control early, just needed one more xp to level and I’d be in the driver seat. Well I never saw another 1 drop, so I never leveled and proceeded to get curb stomped by Cable’s matter manipulation antics.


Overall it was a very enjoyable game and my opponent was very nice and helped clarify some interactions for me. I play round 2 this week and am looking forward to seeing how my deck performs after a few tweaks.



I’m still impressed by the theme of the game. The community overall, and the civil war arc continues to impress me. If you have any interest in a competitive marvel focused expandable type card game, take a hard look. It’s a great game and the civil war arc is the perfect jumping on point for new players.



Well that’s it, until next time kids! Stay scheming champions

64 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Signing Off

Hey Champions, I hope everyone is doing well. Sorry I haven’t been around much. Real life is demanding much more of my time than I anticipated. I’m writing this short little blurb to let everyone know

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page