top of page
  • Writer's picturethesidescheme

I’ll Do It Myself Part 1


Hello again fellow Champions enthusiasts! Tis I, Tommy of Titan, back again to talk about one of the major things that sets Marvel Champions apart from other table top games. I’m talking about the ability to play the game solo. Now, more than ever this is a valuable asset to our community especially with all of the social distancing being practiced. With that in mind, I thought creating a series of articles highlighting popular or innovative solo decks could be a valuable resource for our community. So here’s the first of that series.

I figured the best place to start was at the top. So, in this first installment we will be looking at Captain America Stun Lock. Admittedly, this is by no means my favorite deck to play but it is undoubtedly one of the most effective solo decks in the game at the moment. If you need a win to boost your confidence, than this is the deck for you. Now let’s take a look at a version of the list.




The general premise of the deck is to continually stun the villain turn after turn so that you never get attacked in the portion of the Villain phase when they activate. You may still be attacked by the Villain when encounter cards dictate, or by minions but that’s not nearly as big an issue if you are able to prevent that natural attack every round. The path to stun locking the Villain is through 7 cards in the deck. Tackle and Heroic Strike, each of which have 3 copies in the deck will require you to spend a physical resource to get the maximum value. The other card that can drop a stun is Mockingbird. All 7 of these cards also advance your win condition of defeating the Villain.



In this version of the deck I’ve taken an extremely conservative approach by including a lot of defensive cards. This should make Captain America very difficult to defeat but will also likely prolong the game giving the Villain an extended window to accomplish their diabolical scheme. As long as you spend the overwhelming majority of the game in hero form and manage threat by thwarting occasionally, this isn’t an issue. Some versions may cut cards like Med Team in favor of more damage dealing cards like Haymaker and that makes sense to me too. It’s really just your own personal preference because I think both work just fine.


I would encourage anyone trying this deck to run it up against the toughest of encounters and don’t be afraid to crank up the difficulty to an 11. This is a “cheese” fest of a deck and not overly interesting to play once you have had a go or two at it. It will however, be a deck that will be interesting to play into new, and even more challenging encounters in the future.


Well that about does it for the first installment of my solo series. I hope you get a chance to play the deck and would love to hear how it worked for you or what changes you made along the way. As always, if you are interested in more content please stay tuned here for more articles, as well as checking out The Side Scheme on FB, YouTube, Twitch, Patreon, and wherever you listen to Podcasts. I’m Tommy of Titan ominously drifting into the shadows.

545 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Signing Off

Hey Champions, I hope everyone is doing well. Sorry I haven’t been around much. Real life is demanding much more of my time than I anticipated. I’m writing this short little blurb to let everyone know

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page