top of page
  • Writer's picturethesidescheme

High Fives: Villain Scenarios

Hello Champions, BananaCrapshoot here yet again for another article. Today I wanted to spend a few minutes on my high five villain scenarios to play right now for Marvel Champions. This is the villain + modular set combo I enjoy the most, some villains may repeat with different modular sets. so we will jump right in.

Expert Mutagen Formula with Goblin Gimmicks



This is the stock Mutagen deck but I really like it. The gimmicks modular set is very thematic obviously and seeing the glider in Goblin is very cool. The Mutagen villain deck itself is my favorite, Goblin Gimmicks is probably the weakest of the modular sets for it since it doesn’t add any minions. But the theme and combo is very fun and I enjoy it a lot.


Klaw with Legions of Hydra Heroic 1



Klaw is an awesome villain in the game. His double boost helps cycle his deck so fast, and in heroic you see the extra encounter card each round so you really get through that deck fast. You also get the hydra minions and Madame Hydra for some extra kick, and with the deck cycling you get plenty of minions in play. This scenario has kicked my butt quite a few times but it’s always fun and always close, until it isn’t.

Expert Mutagen Formula with Doomsday Chair


You’ll notice I haven’t gone heroic Mutagen yet, I see enough encounter cards in expert I havent tried heroic yet. 4 encounter cards round 1. Sounds fun. Nevertheless we have Doomsday Chair this time, Mutagen has plenty of minions and a few big ones with the Goblin Knight and Monster, now throw in MODOK and the biomechanical upgrades and you are in for 3 bomb minions that don’t go away. Now the Mutagen deck is thicker than other villain decks but with the encounter cards round 1 off stage 2 when revealed right off the bat, lots of surge effects, you go through this deck fast enough you will see some bomb minions.

Expert Mutagen Formula with Running Interference



This is the third snd final Mutagen in my high fives. Similar to doomsday Chair, this modular set adds another bomb minion with Tombstone, who is an absolute pain in the ass to deal with. On top of that is Media Coverage, which makes you resolve the When Revealed effects of Treachery cards twice! if you get this early it could be lights out very fast for the heroes. I like the challenge it brings, especially to this villain. What really makes it scary is on expert or Heroic all the encounter cards you see. Can get very far behind very early and may never recover.


Wrecking Crew Heroic 1



My last one for this article is Wrecking Crew, now normal expert or standard wrecking crew isn’t that difficult honestly. Enter Heroic mode. This is the way this encounter was made to be played I think. The villain decks are all small and seeing 2 cards each round really ups the ante and makes wrecking crew an absolute blast to play, and much more of a challenge. We recently played this in our draft league and it was the most fun scenario for me to play.


Thats it, that’s the article, my High Fives for Villain Scenarios. Hopefully the guys at Critical Encounters enjoy this one. Let me know what villain scenarios are your favorite to play and why mine are all stupid. Thanks for stopping by, please check our other articles, we have been publishing three a week since February so we have lots of good stuff there, please also check out our Podcast if questionable quality, and our YouTube Chanel for gameplay videos, VLOGs, and more to come. Stay Scheming Champions!


267 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Signing Off

Hey Champions, I hope everyone is doing well. Sorry I haven’t been around much. Real life is demanding much more of my time than I anticipated. I’m writing this short little blurb to let everyone know

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page