top of page
  • Writer's picturethesidescheme

High Fives: Signature Allies

by BananaCrapshoot

Hello champions! Today we are doing another High Fices, this time ranking the 5 best signature allies in the game. You all know the deal by now so I’m not gonna filibuster here let’s jump in.




Mockingbird


I know some people the basic ally is better but I would disagree. The signature mockingbird ally that comes with hawkeye is pretty amazing. In a world where steady and stalwart exist having the ability to bounce her back to hand and prevent all the damage from an attack is a pseudo-stun. She’s a chump blocker without being a chump. Every round you could play her, atk or thwart, fire off your best arrow and do some more things then bounce her back to hand so stay alive a lot longer than you should. She’s a great ally and I think criminally underrated as well.




Captain Marvel


Pretty sure this is the most expensive ally I’ll have on this list. She’s worth it though, every time this ally attacks or thwarts you get to draw a card. This has led to some very strong Voltron builds with leadership and protection so you get lots of readying effects and heals which leads to more card draw and allows spider woman to get large basic Stat numbers. Personally I think the build is very strong but I don’t enjoy it. But I can’t overlook how strong this ally is in any build that wants to use allies. Card draw is always a strong mechanic and it usually leads to better turns for spider woman as a result.



Shuri


Shuri earlier in the games life I overlooked honestly. But as the game goes and we get more cards she gets better and better. The ability to grab any upgrade is pretty crazy. No matter the aspect or the build her ability to grab the upgrade you need is so nice. She has a decent amount of health too. You can do the rapid response game with her where you can either bounce her back into play for whatever upgrade or more rapid responses and keep recycling her as a blocker. That’s probably not the best line of play but it is one you could take.



Black Cat


Here we have another Voltron ally. The reason I like black cat a little more is that she doesn’t take the consequential damage on her attacks. So you don’t get the draw but you don’t have to waste the cards to heal her. You can just build and swing a bunch. Her on play effect can be relevant but the reason we like her so much is her Voltron potential.





Pip The Troll


I love pip the troll, his ability is so cool. There’s some wonky combos you can pull off with leadership players and regroup. The real reason I like him though is that he’s an on demand blocker when you need it for players in a tough spot. In solo this card isn’t as good, it really shines in 3-4 player games though. I think this card is a thematic win. Is fun and even though the stats aren’t great you are playing him to be an on demand blocker anyway.



That’s it for this one, let me know which signature allies I should have included and which ones I should not have on the list.

Ass always stay scheming champions

369 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Signing Off

Hey Champions, I hope everyone is doing well. Sorry I haven’t been around much. Real life is demanding much more of my time than I anticipated. I’m writing this short little blurb to let everyone know

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page