top of page
  • Writer's picturethesidescheme

High Fives: Protection 1.5

Hello Champions! Hope you are all doing well and enjoying the new heroes we have access to. I’m sure you are all anticipating the campaign box as much as I am. Today’s article I wanted to revisit my High Fives list for Protection, since the release of Dr Strange in the U.S. I now have access to more protection cards and after some games I wanted to see how my new list shakes out. Let’s get started.




Energy Barrier is still the best overall protection card. It’s essentially 6 damage for 2 resources. Or 3 dmg/resource, which is above curve for aspect cards. It also has the added bonus of being a tech upgrade and really enables the higher tier Iron Man decks. Auto include in any respectable protection deck list.



Next up is Tackle, this is another card that I auto include in my protection decks. A stun is just so valuable. The 3 dmg is a nice add on as its one of the few attack events in the protection pool. Otherwise you are relying on your hero signature Set. Which is fine but it’s nice having other options. This card just hits a real sweet spot and enables some stun lock decks. Which stun locking itself is a potential problem I hope is addressed at some point.


Next up is the first one from Dr Strange’s pack. Momentum Shift. I’ve really been loving this card. The 4 damage swing is so nice, anything that prevents or heals dmg and then deals dmg back is awesome. It keeps you in hero mode longer, which means the game is probably shorter. And more likely you are to win. This is essentially Vibranium Suit on a stick and I’m all for it.



Med Team is a really good card. I put it in all my protection decks but I dont know that it’s an auto 3 of at this time. It’s great to keep ally’s alive and heal yourself or teammate in an emergency. It’s on cost curve and it stays on the table thinning the player deck so everything about it is good. Although recently when I’ve been playing I’d rather play an energy barrier or tackle.



Next up is an ally Brother Voodoo. Reasons why I like this card, it’s a 2 thwart, protection decks can struggle handling threat and allies with 2 thwart are a must. Another reason is that sweet response, allowing you to dig to find your tackles, momentum shifts, or hero deck events can be extremely clutch. At this point he is an auto include for me.


This list was really hard to get down to Five so I wanted to throw out two honorable mentions. First is Black Widow, similar to Beither Voodoo she’s a 2 thwart ally with a good ability. The other is Clea, wasn’t sold ok Clea at first but she’s a cheap ally that can thwart or knock off a tough status card, then eat a big attack and she goes right back into the deck, she’s in play a lot and really makes some consistent thwarting potential for protection players.


That will do it for this one, thanks for stopping by. Please check out the rest of our articles, our youtube channel, and of course our podcast. If interested you can also check out our patreon page. Let me know what cards are in your High Fives for Protection, and as aways, stay scheming Champions.

307 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Signing Off

Hey Champions, I hope everyone is doing well. Sorry I haven’t been around much. Real life is demanding much more of my time than I anticipated. I’m writing this short little blurb to let everyone know

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page