top of page
  • Writer's picturethesidescheme

Hail Hydra, in Q4?

What’s up Champions?! BananaCrapshoot here with another article, this one will be shorter I imagine as it’s basically some quick thoughts on today’s reveal. Tommy of Titan and I are excited for the story box so let’s jump in.

So GAMA is happening now, truthfully I have no idea what that is or means and I’m not going to pretend to, however FFG has a keynote address talking about various games, and one of those was Marvel Champions!

The Rise of the Red Skull is our first Campaign Expansion for Marvel Champions! This is extremely exciting for a variety of reasons. For starters the Red Skull is an awesome and iconic Marvel villain. Also on the box art we see Zola who looks awesome! And possibly playable heroes of Hawkeye and Spider Woman! I’m down for more heroes to play and am interested to see the design of these heroes. Also worth noting Spider Woman is the first signature ally to be made a hero so I’m curious to see how they handle that.


I think now is a good time for Tommy of Titan to give his thoughts:

We have a big box preview! We don’t know much but I’m still hyped! Q4 2020 is extremely disappointing and tells me we are in for a serious helping of no content. Enough of the doom and gloom for now. It’s a Hydra box and confirmed as a story box which is great. I’m hopeful they find a way to link encounters together in some way in this box. The big take away is the Hydra theme. For me I’m very excited to see Hydra. It seems logical that the creators would want to gradually increase the difficulty of the encounters as we get more and more options and presumably gain some power creep. To jump right into a big cosmic level threat would seem foolish when you have so many more grounded Earth based Villains. I think this is a great choice for the long term.

Specifically we see Red Skull and Arnim Zola on the cover, with Hawkeye and Spider Woman representing these heroes. Jessica Drew has strong Hydra ties so she is a great thematic inclusion here and Hawkeye rounds out the Avengers nicely. I’m hopeful we will get more Hydra characters in the box too. Possibly Zemo, Cross Bones, Baron Von Strucker, and Madame Hydra to name just a few that they could expand on. So let’s all cross our fingers and hope that we miraculously receive this box before Q4.

Those are Tommy’s thoughts and they mostly mirror my own. I surely hope the Q4 date was a placeholder. I know current events in the world are causing production issues in China and that’s the easy thing to blame. FFG has had production issues as long as I’ve been around their games though so I’m quite jaded to their issues. Q4 release would be really rough for the game With no product for 4-5 months will make it hard to not get burnt out. This is the box teased A while ago for July release.

A few things to keep your gameplay fresh and fun is the huge pool of custom content we have available, if you haven’t check out the home brew discord channel. Also the hallofheroeslcg site has a custom content tab with different challenge modes and links to custom scenarios.

Hopefully we get get this sooner rather than later because I am excited for a story driven hydra campaign. What are your initial thoughts on this reveal? Are you bummed we potentially wait until October for another scenario to play? Stay Scheming Champions!


726 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Signing Off

Hey Champions, I hope everyone is doing well. Sorry I haven’t been around much. Real life is demanding much more of my time than I anticipated. I’m writing this short little blurb to let everyone know

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page