top of page
  • Writer's picturethesidescheme

Deep Dive Series: Black Panther

by BananaCrapshoot


Hello Champions! Today we are gonna start a new deep dive series. In this series I will present to you a hero with a decklist for each of the aspects and then I’ll talk through them a little bit to give you an idea of my goal for that deck.


My goal is to release one of these a week in hopes to help newer players ease into custom deckbuilding as well as giving any player solid deck options for any given hero with any aspect.


I’m kicking this off with Black Panther at the request of a listener asking for some black Panther deck builds, which kind of inspired this whole series. First I’ll present the decks then give a short blurb for each of them and close it out with some final thoughts on the hero as a whole. I’m trying to build decks with the flexibility to perform in solo or multiplayer games.




Aggression- generally I want to play wakanda forever as much as possible with BP regardless of aspect so I have lots of cards that stay on the table. I didn’t want to add too many events but having mean swing to get more out of your upgrades is nice in combo with into the fray to help manage threat and moment of triumph to push his healing potential. The allies are a well rounded group to help manage minions or schemes. I could see fitting enhanced physique in here to help trigger jarnbjorn more consistently. I don’t play on using my basic ATK that much, only on turns where I have mean swing and hand cannons in play. Otherwise I plan on thwarting with my basic action and leaning into my wakanda forever upgrades for most of my damage.



Justice- tactical genius is my least favorite of the BP upgrades so I’m planning on using my basic thwart action every turn for 3 with heroic intuition. This with events like impede and clear the area, along with stealth strike and our allies give us a lot of flexibility and threat control as well as good damage output with energy daggers, Panther claws, turn the tide and stealth strike. Overall this is a well rounded justice deck.



Leadership- this is heavily influenced by the deck maintained by dr00 on marvelcdb.com. Ideally we want to build a wide boardstate with 5-6 allies in play and use strength in numbers to draw a bunch of cards. Late game with a full set up in play we can get 3 wakanda forever off in a turn no problem. Then we have the avengers assemble to ready our allies and with strength in numbers again or go all in to finish off the villain. Shuri generally wants to pull Honorary avenger and play it on her so all of our allies are avengers to get the bonus from avengers tower.



Protection- I really wanted to lean into the defending part of protection. He has a static retaliate 1 and with electrostatic armor that’s essentially retaliate 2. Now I really wanted to fit indomitable in here but I didn’t know what to cut. Ideally we block every turn draw off unflappable. We have access to stun the villain with never back down, and we can taunt the villain with preemptive strikes to become the target of the attack. We are gonna have a base 3 defense with armored vest, combined with energy barriers, never back down and desperate defense we won’t take huge chunks of damage but when we do, we can heal it back with our suit. Our upgrades are how we will deal the damage we can, so being exhausted in the hero phase isn’t a huge deal. Med teams are to heal teammates or allies mostly.



Overall Black Panther is a very solid well rounded hero, he plays well solo or multiplayer and within any aspect. Most of the decks really just flush out his kit and focused on wakanda forever for most damage output, which should be the case, we want to compliment the heroes rather than the heroes compliment the aspect.


If you try these decks out let me know what you think. I’ll post marvelcdb links to published versions below, so you can comment there too.

Thanks for stopping by and stay scheming champions!

decklists :




leadership-


protection-


611 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Signing Off

Hey Champions, I hope everyone is doing well. Sorry I haven’t been around much. Real life is demanding much more of my time than I anticipated. I’m writing this short little blurb to let everyone know

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page