top of page
  • Writer's picturethesidescheme

BananaBuilds: Thor, The Strongest Hero

What’s up Champions?! Hope everyone is staying safe in the crazy times we are living in. Today, I, BananaCrapshoot want to break down and give to you, why Thor is my favorite hero to play in Marvel Champions. I’ll back up this assessment with facts and logic, and not emotionall whatsoever.


It all started When I was a toddler many years ago.... In all seriousness I enjoy playing Thor than any hero released this far. I want to preface this by saying I play 90% 2 handed solo. Now if you are a heroic solo cheese master then your opinion of Thor is probably skewed from mine. Now why do I play 2 handed. Well I find it’s a more balanced and enjoyable play experience. I can have interactions between my heroes and get the co-op feel this game, in my opinion, was intended to have. I like being able to experiment with heroes and aspect combos and synergies in a multiplayer environment even when I’m stuck at home.

Now what makes Thor so much fun for me? It’s the ridiculous hand size he can get to and the damage output potential. I almost always run him aggression in 2 handed so I have someone to help the thwarting most times so Thor can just melt minions and swing at the villain. Now a mistake I think a lot of people make with Thor is wasting time to set up. To really max Thor out, just get Mjolnir down and start swinging. I only play Asgard, helicarrier, etc, if I have no damage in hand, exception here is God of Thunder, get those down now. So hand size, his hero base of 4 is lackluster but he can draw potentially 4/round for a total hand size of 8/round, this can also be enhanced with God of Thunder and Helicarrier, or other resource cards. I don’t play Avengers Mansion with Thor, I try to limit 4 cost cards as much as possible. So in a 2 handed game it’s not uncommon to be playing with 8-10 resources a round. That’s insane value and is on par with fully kitted Iron Man.


It is somewhat scenario dependent, if you are playing Rhino, with 4 minions in deck, you know right away you aren’t getting the draw power, Klaw, Mutagen, Ultron, anything with a decent amount of minions are great Thor matchups. So we can get minions in the villain phase from ultron creating drones, klaw giving is a boost weapons runner, or as encounter cards. Then in hero we have defender of the nine realms. DotNR is a polarizing Card but it’s benefits outweigh the risks. Get Over Here is the big one though, it can knock off tough and pull minions off your teammates to engage you and get you 2 cards in the hero phase, so it’s a net +1 hand size. Another way is vs Ultron, he only has 2 printed drones in deck and they are both Advanced drones and when defeated they spawn a normal drone, so that’s a straight +2 hand size in the hero phase.


Thor has a naturally high health total, and with his helmet gets him to the second most health available behind Hulk. So this allows Thor to stay in hero mode longer, allowing him to do more damage with his basic ATK and hero action events. Just another plus in the Thor column.


Heres a generic aggression Thor deck build:



Now this isn’t a scenario specific build but a generic one to take against whatever you want. Also built with multiplayer in mind, for solo the get over here you would probably drop.

Now one card I like but doesnt work great for Thor is Drop Kick, I’m trying to have good lightning strikes, avg of 4s, so trying to pay for the kicker Effect isn’t gonna happen here. Everything else I feel is pretty standard. I like haymaker for a few reasons, one is it’s an energy resource, and another is that it’s a straight 3 dmg. When Thor gets combat training and has 4 atk, hitting those 3 health minions feels bad, especially if I want to mean swing that turn. So one haymaker to help with minions to complement the relentless assaults.

So it takes the 3rd relentless assault spot since it doesn’t have the limiting factor of HAVING to target minions.

Ally pool is really solid, Brawn is a great addition to aggression, lockjaw is the mvp, best ally in the game. Tigra is great to eat some minions but she doesn’t allow hall of heroes to get counters so keep that in mind.

My general Thor plays, I just get mjolnir down right away and do as much damage as possible from the jump, don’t waste time setting up unless it’s god of Thunder the first deck pass or you don’t have attacks/allies to play. Just melt minions and then the villain will melt away too. You pull minions with get over here and hopefully draw a few and you will consistently have 10 resources a round to mess with and that opens a lot of doors making Thor a great hero, and my favorite one to play. The combos with battle fury, mean swing, jarnbjorn, etc when you have all this card draw and effective resources is insane!


Thanks for spending a few minutes with me today. Hope this helps someone out! Please check out the rest of our articles and podcasts! As well as our YouTube channel, we will have arise of Red Skull content coming as a part of #hydrarising. Stay Scheming Champions!

271 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Signing Off

Hey Champions, I hope everyone is doing well. Sorry I haven’t been around much. Real life is demanding much more of my time than I anticipated. I’m writing this short little blurb to let everyone know

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page